Video LoadingVideo UnavailableClick to playTap to playThe video will start in8CancelPlay now

Get the FREE Mirror Football newsletter by email with the day’s key headlines and transfer news

Sign upWhen you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. OurPrivacy Noticeexplains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.Thank you for subscribingWe have more newslettersShow meSee ourprivacy noticeInvalid Email

Liam Rosenior will be part of the six-person panel to select the new FA chairman following the resignation of Greg Clarke.

Clarke was forced to quit earlier this month after using the term "coloured footballers" while speaking to the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) select committee.

The FA have today announced the job will be advertised next month will the aim of making the appointment in the spring.

The selection panel will include three independent members – chair Stacey Cartwright, Kate Tinsley and Rosenior.

The former Fulham, Hull City and Brighton defender, 36, is now first-team coach at Derby and joined the FA’s Inclusion Advisory Board in May 2020.

"It’s an absolute honour to be asked to be part of the panel to recruit the new Chair of the Football Association,” Rosenior said.

Clarke was sacked earlier this month
(Image: PA)

Read More
Related Articles

  • FA chiefs confident fans will be at Wembley for England's Euros clash with Scotland

Read More
Related Articles

  • Les Ferdinand rules himself out of running to become FA chairman

“I am truly humbled and really looking forward to being involved in making an appointment that is so important to our game."

There will be pressure to appoint a more modern FA chairman after the demise of 63-year-old Clarke.

Liam Rosenior will be included in the selection process
(Image: PA)

Cartwright added: "I’m incredibly proud to lead the selection panel for the new Chair of the Football Association. I believe we have selected a panel that reflects the modern-day FA and the wider game.

"This is a pivotal moment for the organisation as we search to find the best person to help to continue to drive The FA forward."

The other members of the selection panel – who have been appointed by the FA board – are interim FA chair Peter McCormick, Rupinder Bains and Jack Pearce.

Sign up to the Mirror Football email here for the latest news and transfer gossip.