ARSENAL fans were left fuming after Alexandre Lacazette had a last-gasp 'goal' against Manchester United disallowed.
But the rules – which few fans seem to be aware of – clearly show the referee got it spot on this time.
BT Sport3 Alexandre Lacazette thought he had pulled off a trick when he headed the ball out of David De Gea's hands
Gunners striker Lacazette tried a sneaky trick on David De Gea when he creeped up behind him and headed the ball out of his hands.
De Gea was holding the ball in just one hand at the time, and Lacazette punted the ball into the empty net after dislodging it from his grasp.
Lacazette looked incredulous when referee Andre Marriner signalled to say the 89th-minute 'goal' was disallowed.
But the France star – like many viewers – appeared unaware of a change to the rules.
Lacazette being innovative. 😂 #ManUtdArsenal #MANARS pic.twitter.com/FPwopVllLq
— Anthony Barbagallo (@AnthBarbagallo) December 5, 2018
Reuters3 The France forward was left fuming at what he thought was a perfectly good goal
Latest Arsenal newsGossipGUNNERS NEWS Man Utd verdict, £15m Moraes eyed, fight with Barca over Pepe and Koscielny OK RevealedEM we go Arsenal 'chose Unai Emery over Mikel Arteta because he did not want huge overhaul' ExclusiveWen, not if Wenger set for sensational return to management within weeks, says Petit Rumble in Roma Arsenal to battle Tottenham for Roma winger Under dubbed ‘The Undertaker’ hair raiser Fellaini grabs hair of Guendouzi to delight and fury of social media
Former ref Phil Dowd explained why Marriner was right.
He said: "The law has changed. He [De Gea] is considered to be in control of the ball when he has it in both hands, his outstretched hand or between any other surface.
"He has the ball in his hand, he is in control at all times and cannot be challenged.
"Therefore the foul was given."
BT Sport3 The Arsenal star was able to slot into an empty net… but his goal was disallowed
THE VERDICT Unai Emery has Arsenal buzzing again but still needs to fix defence
Nottingham Forest's Gary Crosby famously had the goal stand when he headed the ball out of Man City keeper Andy Dibble's hands in March 1990.
And Arsenal fans at home mistakenly believed Lazacette's goal in the 2-2 draw should have stood too.
One wrote: "Sorry correct me if I’m wrong but I’ve grown up knowing that if the keeper is only holding the ball with one hand you can take the ball from him, Lacazette has done so in a fair and legal way, no high foot, with his head, and put the ball in the net, why has this not counted?"